Calendar of Events - 2024
















Board Meeting
Thursday, January 11, 2024
4:00pm











Pannukakku Breakfast & Vendors
Saturday, January 27, 2024
8:00am-10:00am
Program to follow: “Growing Up Finnish- (or Other-) American”











Open House - Cross Country Ski / Snowshoe / Hike
Saturday, February 3, 2024
10:00am-3:00pm
Trails open to the pubic












Board Meeting
Thursday, February 8, 2024
4:00pm











Open House - Cross Country Ski / Snowshoe / Hike
Saturday, February 10, 2024
10:00am-3:00pm
Trails open to the pubic











Open House - Cross Country Ski / Snowshoe / Hike
Saturday, February 17, 2024
10:00am-3:00pm
Trails open to the pubic











Pannukakku Breakfast & National Sauna Week Celebration
Saturday, February 24, 2024
8:00am-10:00am - Breakfast - Vendors
Program to follow: “Building a Sauna”
9:00am-3:00pm - Sauna Museum open
Trails open to the pubic











Board Meeting
Thursday, March 7, 2024
4:00pm











St. Urho's Dinner Dance
Saturday, March 16, 2024
4:00pm-8:00pm











Pannukakku Breakfast & Vendors
Saturday, March 23, 2024
8:00am-10:00am











Finnish Language Classes
Monday, April 1, 2024
4:00pm-6:00pm Advanced
6:15pm-8:15pm Beginners











Finnish Language Classes
Monday, April 8, 2024
4:00pm-6:00pm Advanced
6:15pm-8:15pm Beginners











Board Meeting
Thursday, April 11, 2024
4:00pm











Finnish Language Classes
Monday, April 15, 2024
4:00pm-6:00pm Advanced
6:15pm-8:15pm Beginners











Finnish Language Classes
Monday, April 22, 2024
4:00pm-6:00pm Advanced
6:15pm-8:15pm Beginners











Pannukakku Breakfast & Flea Market
Saturday, April 27, 2024
8:00am-10:00am Breakfast
8:30am-12:00pm Flea Market











Edwin E. Kaarela, Celebration of Life
Sunday, April 28, 2024 - 10:00am-1200pm
Coffee and Finnish pastries











Finnish Language Classes
Monday, April 29, 2024
4:00pm-6:00pm Advanced
6:15pm-8:15pm Beginners











Flea Market
Saturday, May 4, 2024
8:00am-2:00pm











Spring Clean-Up
Saturday, May 4, 2024
9:00am











Finnish Language Classes
Monday, May 6, 2024
4:00pm-6:00pm Advanced
6:15pm-8:15pm Beginners











Birch Bark Basket Workshops
Weave with Elaine Moe

2-day workshops, each limited to 4 people
Wednesday-Thursday, May 1-2, 9:30-3:30


To register, make reservations, or for more
information, email finnishcenter@yahoo.com
or call 978-407-9690 and leave a message











Birch Bark Basket Workshops
Weave with Elaine Moe

2-day workshops, each limited to 4 people
Tuesday-Wednesday, May 7-8, 9:30-3:30


To register, make reservations, or for more
information, email finnishcenter@yahoo.com
or call 978-407-9690 and leave a message











Board Meeting
Tuesday, May 7, 2024
4:00pm











Finnish Language Classes
Monday, May 13, 2024
4:00pm-6:00pm Advanced
6:15pm-8:15pm Beginners











Finnish Language Classes
Monday, May 20, 2024
4:00pm-6:00pm Advanced
6:15pm-8:15pm Beginners











Pannukakku Breakfast & Vendors
Saturday, May 25, 2024
8:00am-10:00am
10:10am: Book discussion: The End of Drum
Time by Hanna Pylväinen, finalist for 2023
National Book Award











Finnish Language Classes
Monday, June 3, 2024
4:00pm-6:00pm Advanced
6:15pm-8:15pm Beginners











Fitchburg State University Community Orchestra
Tuesday, June 4, 2024
6:30pm-8:00pm
Nature Walk with Mike Potsaid
5:45pm











Board Meeting
Thursday, June 6, 2024
4:00pm











Finnish Language Classes
Monday, June 10, 2024
4:00pm-6:00pm Advanced

6:15pm-8:15pm Beginners











Fitchburg State University Community Orchestra
Tuesday, June 11, 2024
6:30pm-8:00pm











Fitchburg Cultural Alliance at Saima
Wednesday June 12, 2024
4:00pm-6:00pm
Pavilion and Museums, FSU Community Orchestra,
coffee and Finnish coffee bread










Fitchburg State University Community Orchestra
Tuesday, June 18, 2024
6:30pm-8:15pm












Birch Bark Workshop
Weave a heart with Elaine Moe

Limited to 8 participants
Wednesday, June 19, 2024 - 1:00pm-4:00pm


To register, make reservations, or for more
information, email finnishcenter@yahoo.com
or call 978-407-9690 and leave a message











Kesäjuhla / Finnish Summer Festival
Sunday, June 23, 2024
10:00am-3:00pm
Chess Tournament (registration 8:45-9:15; play begins 9:30); outdoor games,
chicken barbecue (reservations required), coffee and pulla, hotdogs, music,
folk dancers, cultural program TBA

To register, make reservations, or for more
information, email finnishcenter@yahoo.com
or call 978-407-9690 and leave a message











Fitchburg State University Community Orchestra
Tuesday, June 25, 2024
6:30pm-8:15pm











Fitchburg State University Community Orchestra
Tuesday, July 2, 2024
6:30pm-8:15pm











Fitchburg State University Community Orchestra
Tuesday, July 9, 2024
6:30pm-8:15pm
Nature Walk with Mike Potsaid

5:45pm











Board Meeting
Thursday, July 11, 2024
4:00pm











Fitchburg State University Community Orchestra
Tuesday, July 16, 2024
6:30pm-8:15pm











Fitchburg State University Community Orchestra
Tuesday, July 23, 2024
6:30pm-8:15pm











Pannukakku Breakfast & Vendors
Saturday, July 27, 2024
8:00am-10:00am
Program to follow











Fitchburg State University Community Orchestra
Tuesday, July 30, 2024
6:30pm-8:15pm











Fitchburg State University Community Orchestra
Tuesday, August 6, 2024
6:30pm-8:15pm
Nature Walk with Mike Potsaid

5:45pm











Yoga with Ellen Daoust
Under the Pavilion
Monday
, August 5
, 2024
6:00pm-7:00pm











Board Meeting
Thursday, August 8, 2024
4:00pm











Yoga with Ellen Daoust
Under the Pavilion
Monday, August 12, 2024
6:00pm-7:00pm











Fitchburg State University Community Orchestra
Tuesday, August 13, 2024
6:30pm-8:15pm











Yoga with Ellen Daoust
Under the Pavilion
Monday, August 19, 2024
6:00pm-7:00pm











Fitchburg State University Community Orchestra
Tuesday, August 20, 2024
6:30pm-8:15pm











Pannukakku Breakfast & Vendors
Saturday, August 24, 2023
8:00am-10:00am











Board Meeting
Thursday, September 12, 2024
4:00pm











Nordic Marketplace (Tori)
Saima Classic Car Cruise
Sunday, September 15, 2023
10:00am-2:30pm
Vendors, food, music and more!











Annual Meeting
Function Hall at Saima Park
Sunday, October 6, 2024
1:00pm
Business meeting, refreshments, program











Finnish Language Classes
Monday, October 2, 2023
4:00pm-6:00pm Advanced Beginners
6:15pm-8:16pm Beginners











Finnish Language Classes
Monday, October 9, 2023
4:00pm-6:00pm Advanced Beginners
6:15pm-8:16pm Beginners











Finnish Language Classes
Monday, October 16, 2023
4:00pm-6:00pm Advanced Beginners
6:15pm-8:16pm Beginners












Finnish Language Classes
Monday, October 23, 2023
4:00pm-6:00pm Advanced Beginners
6:15pm-8:16pm Beginners











Breakfast & Brass
Saturday, October 28, 2023
8:00am-10:00am











Finnish Language Classes
Monday, October 30, 2023
4:00pm-6:00pm Advanced Beginners
6:15pm-8:16pm Beginners












Finnish Language Classes
Monday, November 6, 2023
4:00pm-6:00pm Advanced Beginners
6:15pm-8:16pm Beginners












Finnish Language Classes
Monday, November 13, 2023
4:00pm-6:00pm Advanced Beginners
6:15pm-8:16pm Beginners












Pannukakku Breakfast
Celebrate Finland’s 106 years of Independence from Russia! 
Saturday, December 2, 2023
8:00am-10:00am










Children's Christmas Party
Saturday, December 3, 2023
1:00pm-4:00pm










Christmas Party at Oak Hill Country Club
Saturday, December 17, 2023
12:00pm-3:00pm